Batman: Year One, Book #1

The first book I read in 2013 was Batman: Year One by Frank Miller and David Mazzucchelli.  The story was decent and the art was good but I don’t have too much to say about it because I’m still so pissed off at Frank Miller for All Star Batman and Robin, the Boy Wonder (which I didn’t finish because fuck Frank Miller, Batman WOULD NOT DO THAT) and to a lesser extent The Dark Knight Strikes Again (the artwork of which I hated like whoa and the story of which was questionable at best).

I’ve been trying yo get into comics for a while now, but it’s been hard for several reasons.  1) For most of the more popular characters, there’s just SO MUCH stuff out there that it’s really hard for a novice to jump in.  Especially a novice who is also a completest, like me.  Part of me wants to read ALL the Batman comics, no matter how impossible I know that is.  2) Cost.  I’m just not that willing to spend all that much on something as hit and miss as comics.  3) My local library system SEEMS to have a decent selection but a ridiculous amount of the comics are listed as “missing.”  Because stealing from a place that exists solely to provide free books, movies, music, and internet is a really good idea, karmically speaking.  4) Comics in general are REALLY BAD at women.  It makes my little, feminist heart very, very sad.

I’m really bad at ending things.  I’ve said everything I want to say but I have no idea how to get out of this gracefully.  Maybe I should come up with a zingy catchphrase.  “Set it and forget it” is both taken and not applicable, sadly.  I’ll have to ponder this one.  Laters.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

