The Death of Superman, Book #6

The Death of Superman by Dan Jurgens, Jerry Ordway, Louise Simonson, Roger Stern, Jon Bogdanove, Tom Grummett, Jackson Guice, Brett Breeding, Rick Burchett, Doug Hazelwood, Dennis Janke, and Denis Rodier.

Kind of stupid to give away the ending with the title. Takes a lot of the tension out of reading the damn thing. Also, despite being published in 1993, the whole thing had a very ’70s feel. The art (mostly Lois and Lex Luther’s hair, zomg, hilarious), the dialog, everything felt super (HAHAHA, SEE WHAT I DID THERE?) dated. And it’s repetitive.  Doomsday smashes stuff.  Heroes try to smash Doomsday.  Doomsday smashes heroes.  Again and again.  Still, when Superman said good-bye to Lois, it was pretty affecting. On the whole, could have been worse.

Batman is clearly better than Superman.  This is a fact.  But I’ve always had a fondness for Superman.  He’s just so earnest.  I think this fondness comes from watching a lot of “Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman” when I was 12/13-years-old after I came home from school.  I recently caught a rerun on one of those channels with a ridiculous number and Dean Cain isn’t nearly as pretty as I remember, though Teri Hatcher was much lovelier than I recalled.

I’ve already started “World Without Superman” but I’m feeling kind of lost.  Why is Supergirl 1) melty, 2) dating Lex Luthor?  What’s up with the under dwellers or whatever they’re called?  Why, exactly, would anybody think Superman would want a big, creepy statue/monument built of him?  Did he seem like that kind of guy?  Also, can you stop drawing Jimmy Olsen’s freckles like that?  Because, ew.  I might have to go back and read some earlier Superman comics, to catch myself up on specific storylines.  Weeeee!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

