#s 23-44

This is the post for books that were rereads (and therefore I clearly like them lots and lots) or that I otherwise don’t have much to say about.

Making Money and Going Postal by Terry Pratchett.  I sure do love me some Moist von Lipwig.

First Test, Page, Squire, and Lady Knight by Tamora Pierce.  Kel is my favorite of Ms. Pierce’s protagonists and Squire and Lady Knight contain some of her best writing.  Please note that I actually “read” Squire twice in two months because I was stressed as fuck and I needed the comfort.  Listened to the audiobook versions, did not love the reader.

Anantham by Neal Stephenson.  Creative, thought provoking, interesting, and fun.  Audiobook and the reader was amazing.

Bride Hunt Ball by Olivia Parker, A Duke of Her Own by Elosia James, and Always A Scoundrel by Suzanne Enoch.  Crappy romance novels.  I started reading them at about age ten and now I find their very crappy-ness and predictability comforting.  These were unobjectionable as far as romance novels go but I have no memories of their actual plots.

Chalice by Robin McKinley.  One of my favorite books ever.

Biting the Sun by Tanith Lee.  It’s been yeeeeaaaars since I read this one and I’d forgotten how much I love the main character.  And Tanith Lee in general.  I need to read more books by her.

Valor’s Choice, The Better Part of Valor, Heart of Valor, and Valor’s Trial by Tanya Huff.  Rereads, audiobooks, did not love the reader.  I love these books, they’re just the right blend of humor and action and pathos.

White Cat, Red Gloves, Black Heart by Holly Black.  Audiobooks, read by Jesse Eisenberg.  Before listening to these books the first time, I wasn’t much of a Jesse Eisenberg fan but he did a REALLY good job with these.  Another series that is a really good mix of humor, action, and pathos.

The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin.  I have no words for how amazing this book is.  I was slightly worried to reread it, fearing it wouldn’t be as good as I remembered, but it really, really was.

Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujuld.  Ista dy Chalion might be my favorite character of all time.  Oh, Ista. She’s bitter and sarcastic and world-weary and she never gives up. Oh, you want Ista on your team. She’s clever and fast and quietly stubborn and so, so awesome. She used to be mad and she learned a lot from it. Shining Ista. She’ll cut a bitch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

