Book review: G is for Galore #atozchallenge

atoz

Galore by Michael Crummey is a book I can’t tell whether or not I like. I absolutely think it’s a well written book but I don’t recall any of the characters being likeable, which is a huge ding for me.  The novel is set in a remote fishing village in Canada, where the residents are barely eking out an existence. One day a dead whale washes up on shore and when it is cut open, out spills a living man. He is taken in and cleaned up and fed but he is mute, so he cannot tell his story. He also cannot seem to get rid of the strong fish smell which clings to him. The people of the village name him Judah and he becomes an integral part of life in the village and soon becomes entangled in a feud that ends up spanning two hundred years.

Like I said, this is absolutely a well written book. The plot ticks along, some of the prose is lovely, and the characters are well written. They’re just…not nice. I will definitely be reading this book again at some point just to clarify in my mind whether or not I like it, but for now, have any of you read it? Did you find any of the characters likeable? Am I missing something here? Let me know!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book review: G is for Galore #atozchallenge

  1. Doesn’t sound very appealing to me. I’ll have to check it out though. I enjoy reading a wide variety even if it not my usual choice of book.

  2. Margareta says:

    Hi there

  3. Annette says:

    Hi Amanda, just popped in for a look! See ya again soon!

Leave a Reply

