January 2017 Books

1. All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders. Audiobook. Eeeeeehhhhhh. I really wanted to love it, but I didn’t. I think I would have liked it much more if the guy was the nature loving witch and the girl was the techno geek. I feel like it would have forced the author to think about the characters more, if that makes sense? Idk, just, despite having ingredients that I love, the final product wasn’t really for me.

2. Cyborg Heat by Lisa Lace. Audiobook. Wow that was bad. Like, so bad I’m not convinced Lisa Lace isn’t a cyborg who has never actually had sex with a human. So bad that at one point the male lead shoves his penis (which had just been described as “almost too big”) into his female partner’s ass with no prep and she, of course, loves it. So bad that there’s not one but two near rapes of the female lead. So bad that the female lead used soap to masturbate. SO BAD. I’m reading the second book now.

3. Cyborg Fury by Lisa Lace. Audiobook. Well, it was less rapey than the first book but now featured an obsessed bordering on abusive ex, so kind of a wash. On the plus side, the author actually used the word “clit” instead of dancing around it with flowery language, so that’s a plus?

4. Scott Pilgrim vol 1 by that guy I’ll add in later. Ebook. I now dislike the casting of Michael Cera in the movie version even more.

5. Steel World by B.V. Larson. Audiobook. Somebody read waaaaaaaaay too much Heinlein in their youth but didn’t manage to notice any of the things that made Heinlein not totally terrible.

6. Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie. Audiobook, reread.

7. Infinity Lost by S. Harrison. Audiobook. Holy unexpected really gruesome violence, Batman! I also guessed the “twist” about five pages in. And it didn’t even end on a cliffhanger, it ended in the middle of a scene. I’m debating reading the next one though because it was mostly decently written fluff (for various values of fluff, given the extreme violence (seriously, there was this thing with a thumb and an eyeball that was totally unnecessary) but you know what I mean) and that’s just what the doctor ordered sometimes.

8. The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black. Audiobook, reread.

9. Scott Pilgrim vol. 2 by Bryan Lee O’Malley. Ebook.

10. Armada by Ernest Cline. Audiobook. I’m going to have to write a full review of this one. Long story short, it’s not a terrible book but Ernest Cline needs somebody who is more socially aware to avoid falling into sexist and racist pitfalls.

11. Manners and Mutiny by Gail Carriger. Audiobook. Fun, good, would recommend.

12. Proposal by Meg Cabot. Audiobook. Mediator novella. Squeeeeee! Not the best thing in the world but I enjoyed it.

13. Overheard by Maya Banks. Audiobook. Smut. Okay smut, not great.

14. Hold the Bridge by Garth Nix. Audiobook. Some stories were eh and some were great and none were bad.

15. 50 Shades of Gay by Jeffery Self. Audiobook. Lololololololol. Just as bad as you might imagine. Still not as bad as 50 Shades of Grey.

16. Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews. Audiobook. Good! Not sure I buy Kate being as sappy as she ends up being but a small quibble over all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment